Leading lights of the logistics sector recognised at the inaugural Talent in Logistics Awards

Shining and rising stars from the UK and Ireland logistics sector were recently acknowledged at the inaugural Talent in Logistics Awards.

The event, which was held at the Telford International Centre, was hosted by stand-up comedian and star of BBC One sitcom Not Going Out, Tim Vine.

As well as recognising those who train, lead and inspire frontline logistics and transport staff, the Talent in Logistics Awards also reward those who can often feel undervalued and unimportant in the workplace.

The winners were as follows:

LGV Awards

LGV Instructor of the Year, sponsored by the National Register of Instructors (NRI), was awarded to Mark Liggins from Goldstar Transport Ltd who demonstrated “high levels of professionalism, an excellent pass rate and the desire to positively inspire future generations of LGV drivers”. 

Pertemps Academy won the LGV Driver Training Provider of the Year Award for “consistently delivering good quality training evidenced through an excellent pass rate and high post training employment amongst trainees”. Sponsor Merlin Supply Chain Solutions, presented the award.

Driver CPC Awards

Martin Ready from John Lewis Distribution received the Driver CPC Instructor of the Year Award having “delivered positive, engaging Driver CPC Periodic Training that has benefited drivers and road safety”. This award was sponsored by Road Haulage Association (RHA).

The Driver CPC Training Provider of the Year Award, sponsored by Women in Logistics, went to JK Transport Training Services Ltd, who “exceeded customer expectations and improved driver engagement”.

Transport, Driver and H&S Awards

It was the women who proved strongest in this category with Transport Manager of the Year going to Mair Jones of NPT Homes Ltd for her “outstanding commitment to road user safety, customer service excellence and high levels of compliance”. DFA Law was the Award sponsor and Partner, Paul Currie presented the Award.

Emma Ryan from John Lewis Distribution was named LGV Driver of the Year for “going over and above the ‘call of duty’, representing the driving industry in a positive and professional light, and for being an ambassador for the industry for future generations”. This award was presented by sponsor Pertemps Driver Training. In a strong category and in addition to the outright winner, Gary Newell of Wincanton was highly commended, receiving a special mention on the night.

Sandra Fisher from the Royal Mail UK won Health and Safety Leader of the Year, sponsored by Food Storage & Distribution Federation for making an exceptional contribution to the delivery of health and safety in the workplace.

Learning and Development Awards

Training/L&D Manager of the Year went to Andy O’Neill from Nagel Langdons Ltd who demonstrated “an innovative approach to the training and development of logistics talent”.  The award was presented by James Clifford, CEO of Specialised Training.

XPO Logistics received two awards. Its Operational Compliance Training Programme won Training Programme of the Year, sponsored by TJX Europe, and its Driver CPC Training Team won Training Team of the Year, sponsored by Abbey Logistics Group Ltd.

Christina Wilcox from CEMEX UK Ltd won Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by Qommunicate. She became the first female HGV driver apprentice for the company and the first ever female bulk cement tanker delivery driver in the CEMEX UK cement operation.

Material Handling Equipment Awards

Following a tough day of live competitions, International Forklift Operator of the Year was awarded to Simon Bottomley of Nasaleze.  Sponsored by UniCarriers UK Ltd and partnered with McCue Corporation, the competition recognises operators who display outstanding skills and safety in counterbalance lift truck operation and includes operating tests supported by safety companies including: Pyroban, AvantiGas, B&B Attachments and charity Transaid. First runner up was Kristian Sherratt of Travis Perkins, and second runner up was Kris Scarborough of Wilko Retail Ltd.

The Lift Truck Instructor of the Year contest also took place at the Talent in Logistics Conference 2017, celebrating excellence in lift truck training instruction. Andrew Blatch won and was presented the award by sponsor Doosan Industrial Vehicle UK.

Phoenix Training won Material Handling Equipment Training Provider of the Year, sponsored by McCue Corporation, for “exceeding their customers’ expectations by improving safety and efficiency through the delivery of material handling training”.

Lifetime Contribution Award

Prof Richard Wilding OBE of Cranfield School of Management was presented with the Lifetime Contribution to Training and Development in Logistics Award for his service to industry.  Richard is currently the Chairman of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport. The award was presented by Stuart Taylor, Director of award sponsor Mentor FLT Training.

The awards followed the daytime Talent in Logistics Conference at the RTITB Headquarters where some of the key issues currently facing learning and development professionals in logistics were addressed.

The next Talent in Logistics Conference and Awards is due to take place in Telford on June 21 2018.

To find out more visit: www.talentinlogistics.co.uk