Parcel delivery business steals the show at transport awards

A UK parcel delivery company won three awards at the Motor Transport Awards in London – just 12 months after making history as the first company to win all five categories they entered in the 2015 awards.
Dynamic Parcel Distribution (DPD) took away the prizes for training, customer care and business excellence and left its CEO Dwain McDonald almost lost for words. “Incredible!” he said. “Last year's five-out-of-five performance was unprecedented, so to win another three is way beyond my expectations. This team just keeps on improving. Every time we lay down a new challenge, our people step up and move the business forward.”
The judges were equally impressed. “DPD continues to be one of the leading figures in terms of innovation, staying ahead of its competitors in terms of future-proofing its business and constantly reacting to the changing home delivery market,” they said.
One judge on the panel added:  “The senior management at DPD are class acts. The business has put its foot down in the past five years and they are developing their middle management too.”
DPD employs more than 9,000 people in the UK, operating more than 3,000 vehicles from 56 locations and delivering 200 million parcels a year. Turnover grew to £829m in the year to 4 January 2015, compared with £692m the year before.
Motor Transport award winners 2016
Apprenticeship of the Year - The Cartwright Group
Best Use of Technology - Arrow XL
Business Excellence Award - DPD UK
Customer Care Award - DPD UK
Fleet Truck of the Year - Daf XF
Fleet Van of the Year - Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
Fleet Van Operator of the Year - Electricity North West
Haulier of the Year - Malcolm Logistics
Home Delivery Operator of the Year - Arrow XL
Innovation Award -  BrakeSafe by Vision Techniques
Livery of the Year - Mobile People.Powered.Logistics
Low Carbon Award - United Biscuits
Operational and Compliance Excellence Award - One Stop Distribution
Partnership Award - Think Logistics/Career Ready
Safety in Operation Award - TNT UK
Service to Industry - Glyn Davies
Team of the Year – Hermes
Technical Excellence Award - AAH Pharmaceuticals - Supply Chain - PharmaVan II
Temperature Controlled Operator of the Year - Samworth Brothers Supply Chain
Training Award - DPD UK